Emma’s Random (post-surgery) Thoughts

1 One of the best things about being at home is no one tries to monitor your urine output.

2 My throat is sore, and my voice is very hoarse from being intubated.  As a result I’m communicating through sign language and writing notes, a la Little Miss Sunshine. 

3 However, my surgeon said I had “nice, big nerves” so it was easy to avoid them during surgery, so I shouldn’t have any permanant damage. 

4 Being intubated sucks. 

5 Being intubated sucks.  Yes, I know I just posted that, but I’m posting it again because it’s true.

6 My anesthesiologist asked me if I suffer from motion sickness, which I do, so he gave me drugs to prevent me from getting sick after surgery.  It worked.  I woke up and felt fine, and ate a normal dinner. 

7 I have a terrible caugh from being intubated.  It’s like a combination between a caugh and a wretch.  Being intubated sucks. 

8 I went into surgery around 11:00 AM, and it took about two hours. 

9 I spent the night in the hospital just in case I started to bleed after surgery.  There’s a small risk of that, but it usually requires more surgery if it happens.  I’m so relieved that that did not happen, since I have developed strong feelings about being intubated, not sure if I mentioned that. 

10 They put these strange contraptions on my calves that would alternate squeezing each one.  They do this to prevent blood clots.

11 I always sleep like a cat in hospitals, napping for a bit and then waking up throughout the whole day and night.   Of course, when you have people coming to your room every three hours to check your blood pressure, pulse ox and temperature, it’s impossible to sleep through the night. 

12 I was born too late to ever see episodes of Three’s Company and Bonanza, but based on the exerpts I saw in the hospital, I didn’t miss too much. 

13 The Cleveland Clinic is a bit like an airport.  They have a giant board that posts a code for each patient, and tells the family where the patient is, ie in surgery, in recovery.  They also give the family a pager that pages them with updates.  My parents were very happy with that. 

14 I’ve started thyroid replacement therapy.  I’ll have to take a pill first thing in the morning, at least 30 minutes before I eat anything else, otherwise my body may not absorb it very well.  I’m also taking calcium supplements for a week, because surgery on the thyroid gland can shock the parathyroid, which controls calcium levels in the blood. 

15 My surgeon was kind enough to take a picture of my thyroid.  I am taking human biology this semester, and my prof is making me talk about the thryoid, for obvious reasons.  So I asked my surgeon to take a picture of it.  They took one with a cell phone and I’ll get it from her at my follow up appointment. 

16 I better get an A in my human biology class. 

Well, that’s all for now.  I’ll post more later. 

Oh, last thought

17 Thanks for all the thoughts, prayers, positive energy and good wishes!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Emma’s Random (post-surgery) Thoughts

  1. Bebe says:

    So glad to hear from you, Emma, even though I can only imagine how much being intubated sucks! Many hugs to you and thanks for the updates. Hope friends and family are giving you lots of TLC and you have plenty of books and videos for your recovery. Hope pain is manageable and sleep improves. Inability to get good sleep is one of the absolutely worst things about surgery, isn’t it? Insult to injury, IMO. My unsolicited advice: let others pamper you!! Now is not the time for the stiff upper lip! Look forward to more updates!

  2. queridorafa says:

    Thanks for the update Emma–so funny and informative at the same time! Being intubated sounds terrible–sorry you had to go through that and deal with all those side-effects! Great news re: your vocal nerves! Hope you continue to rest, recover, and feel better in the coming days!

  3. Bebe says:

    Hey there, are you there? Just wondering how you’re recuperating!

    • Hi Bebe, I’m here! Recovery is pretty good. I’ve got a lot more energy and I’m starting to dance to music again! Of course, I still tire pretty easily, and my voice is still a little hoarse. But everyone I talk to says I sound almost normal! So I’m getting there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

