February Needs To End

Yesterday evening, I was reminded that 2012 is a leap year, and that this year, February will have 29 days instead of the usual 28.  When I heard this, I was very unhappy.  Normally I would find this entertaining, but last night I became deeply annoyed.  February needs to end, and February needs to end right away.  Here are five reasons that February needs to end. 

 1 One month surgery anniversary

It should be noted that the word anniversary can’t really be applied to months, because the root word of anniversary is the Latin word for year.  However, I am looking forward to marking the one month anniversary since my surgery on the 10th.  Every day I can put between me and my surgery, is a good thing. 

2 Indian Wells

Players

 

Tennis sometimes reminds me of the song at the end of Lambchops, a show that was on TV when I was a child. 

This is the sport that doesn’t end,

Yes it goes on and on my friend,

Some people started playing it

not knowing what it was,

and they’ll continue playing it

forever just because

this is the sport that doesn’t end…

But all tennis fans know that there’s a big difference between tennis when The Big 3+Andy are playing and when they are not playing.  For the past month, The Big 3+Andy have largely been on vacation, and tennis fans are starting to go a little stir crazy.  For heaven’s sake, Querido Rafa has taken to commentating on Rafa’s sips of water during an interview on Spanish television!   The Big 3+Andy is very much like a soap opera, and we are all eagerly awaiting the next chapter.  

The Equinox 

Being from Cleveland, I am completely used to the dark and the gray.  Just as the Navy SEALS learn to love pain and relish pain, we in Cleveland learn to love the gray and to cherish the dark.  However, in March, the Equinox will mark the beginning of spring, and Clevelanders will once again be visited by this giant yellow thing that hangs in the sky.  We don’t really have a word for it; we don’t see it often enough to need one, and we’re not sure at all what it is.  But we like the giant yellow hanging thing, and I’m looking forward to seeing it again. 

4 Vacation

At the end of March, I’ll have vacation time.  This isn’t a huge deal, because I was off for a whole week after my surgery.  Of course, that was an awful vacation, spent so much of it sleeping and tired.  But the vacation time coincides with…

5 The 36th Annual Cleveland International Film Festival!!!

As I stated previously, this is the best time of the year.  It’s my goal to see at least 6 films, or 6 programs of short films.  Last year I saw 3 full length feature films (a French comedy, an Indian/American documentary, and a German children’s film) and two collections of short films.  This year I’m hoping to see either 3 full length films and 3 short film collections, or 4 full length films and 2 short film collections.  I especially love the chance to see short films.  🙂  Last year the Film Festival featured 152 feature length films and 132 short films from all over the world.  It’s the only place where I can see an elderly couple standing in front of the daily schedule, and hear the old woman croack out, “I want to see The Big Gay Musical.”  I can’t wait! 

So come on February, you’re the shortest month, act like it!  Bring on March!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February Needs To End

  1. Arienna Lee says:

    LOLlol: #3
    Being from Rochester, NY, I know your pain. (Although, I think we maybe got more sun in the summer.)

    Have fun at the film festival, I’m sure you’ll tell us all about it!

  2. mariposaxprs says:

    Hope your return to work has not been too rough! As for your February wish, it will soon be March! In a couple or a dozen hours, depending on where you are! Many wishes for a better March to come ❤

Leave a Reply

