I got the program for the Film Festival!

Thursday, when I looked in the mail, I saw the program for the 36th International Film Festival! 

As the days approach the most wonderful time of the year, I am trying to figure out which films I want to see.  I have a goal of seeing 6 shows (full length films or short film programs) by the end of the festival.  Of course, there are always way more films that I would like to see than is humanly possible.  Fortunately, I search for films from years past at the local library, and find a fair number of them.  So the film festival program is the gift that keeps on giving! 

However, here is a list of some of the films that I would like to see at this year’s festival.

1 The Finger

An Argentinian political satire, in which a town nominates a severed finger as mayor.

2 Unfinished Spaces

A Cuban-US documentary that explores an architect’s vision for Cuba, and his fall from grace with Fidel Castro. 

3 The Invisible War

A documentary about the prevalence of rape and sexual assault in the US millitary. 

4 Pegasus

A Moroccan psychological thriller about the trauma of rape and the struggle for identity in a Moroccan psychiatric ward. 

5 The Kid Who Lies

A Peruvian and Venezuelan film about a boy who runs away from home. 

6 The Woman With Cows

A Swedish documentary about a woman and her disabled sister who work on the family farm.  (This isn’t high on my list, but my mother swears by Scandinavian films.) 

7 Up Heartbreak Hill

An American documentary about a Native American boy who views track as a way to escape life on the reservation.

8 17 Girls

A French drama in which 17 teenage girls make a pact to get pregnant and raise their children together (based on the American story.)

9 Cousinhood

A Spanish bromance about three friends who spend the night drowning their sorrows, and growing up a little, after one of them is left at the altar. 

10 Cracks in the Shell

Not at the top of my list, but it’s basically a German variation on the Black Swan.  I’m a little curious to see if another director can do a better job with the idea. 

11 Best Intentions

A Romanian “gently humorous” film about a young man’s overcontrolling response to his mother’s mild stroke.  Romanian film has really become incredibly strong over the past few years.  (I have not yet seen 4 months, 3 weeks, and 2 days.  Not sure I’m ready for that.)  

12 Back To Your Arms

A German, Lithuanian, and Polish film about a daughter in 1961 West Germany, who is being urged by her father to join him in East Berlin. 

13 Leaving

The first, and last film by Czech poet, playwright, and former president Vaclav Havel. 

14 King Curling

A Norweigian comedy about a man who, after ten years struggling in the hospital with OCD induced madness, returns to the sport of curling. 

15 Holidays by the Sea

A French comedy with very little dialogue about several couples who travel to the coast of France for their vacation. 

16  Detropia

A US documentary about the collapse of the economic collapse of the city of Detroit. 

17 Hands Up!

A French film about an entire neighborhood of children who go into hiding to protect their 11 year old friend Milena, who is an illegal immigrant from Chechnya. 

18 I am Eleven

An Australian documentary about the lives of eleven year old girls around the world. 

Not to mention the short films!  🙂 

Keep in mind I will NOT be seeing all of these films, since I have neither the time nor the money to do so.  Over the next few days, I’ll trim down my list to my top choices.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I got the program for the Film Festival!

  1. Iram says:

    how r u feeling now? everything back to normal? have a good week!

    • I’m feeling pretty good. Not back to normal yet, still coughing and I get hoarse. But it’s better than it was last week! So I have to be patient. My energy is back, which is wonderful!

  2. Bebe says:

    I’m jealous. You’d think a large city like Atlanta would have a film festival, but no. I would love to see some of those, yet I think I would avoid The FInger like the plague. That picture of it that you posted freaked me out.

    • The Finger was actually very funny, and not at all graphic. I mean, yes the premise is a little morbid, but it’s actually hilarious.

      That’s too bad Atlanta doesn’t have a film festival! Just so you know, a lot of films at the festival show up on DVD a year or two later. I’ll be reviewing films from previous years’ festivals, and they’re all available on DVD.

Leave a Reply

