…Becoming…Radio…Active…

I finally(!) got the radioactive iodine yesterday.  It took forever. 

I went to the hospital on Tuesday for blood work and a shot.  The shot contained synthetic TSH, or Thyroid Stimulating Hormone.  Thyroid Stimulating Hormone is secreted by the pituitary gland in the brain, which tells the thyroid to secrete more hormones.  The shot helps the radioactive iodine to work better. 

On Wednesday, I got another shot, and then I got a tracer.  I had to wait four hours for the scan, so I spent 4 hours just walking around the hospital.  The tracer was just three pills, which I took and then went home for the rest of the day.

On Thursday, I got a full body scan.  The scan checked to see how much thyroid tissue was left, and to check for metastasis.  There was no metastasis, so they just needed to destroy the remaining thyroid tissue.  This will help prevent cancer reoccurance, and make it easier for the doctors to track any relapse. 

I then had to wait (again!) for the radioactive iodine, since they don’t keep that on site.  I then was given the radioactive iodine restrictions. 

For one day, I have to…

1 Limit time spent in public places

2 stay out of hotels/motels

3 Do not travel by airplane or mass transit

For three days, I have to

1 sleep in my own bed

2 avoid all sexual contact

3 avoid all mouth to mouth contact (the advantage of not having a boyfriend right now!) 

4 Avoid close contact with children or pregnant women

5 Limit private travel with others

6 Use a seperate bathroom

7 Use disposable eating utensils.  These must be kept in a seperate “radioactive trash can” for a week, then I can throw it out. 

This also holds to animals, so I cannot let the cat sleep with me.  Fortunately, I realized that the cat does not like me, she just likes the comfortable.  I moved the comforter to another room, and she’s been ignoring me ever since.  I did move her chair over to the other side of the room, because she was sleeping a little too close for comfort right now. 

I can also resume a normal diet in 24 hours.  24 hours until Chipotle!  Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

