My New Year’s Resolutions (some)

1 Go to 5 20/30 Club Happy Hours this year.

I do like this group.  Every time I go I am happy that I did.  And yet, I am lazy, so I often find myself simply going home and vegging on the couch rather than being social.  This year will be different.

2 Go to the Great Lakes Science Center

I have not been to the Great Lakes Science Center in at least 5 years.  I have to change that at some point.

3 See the new wing of the Art Museum.

The Cleveland Museum of Art has a new wing, and I really want to go see how it turned out.  Furthermore, I actually have not been to the art museum in a while, over a year, which is a long time for me.  Time to fix that.

4 Submit essays for publishing.

Here’s the thing.  I am writing all the time.  Not necessarily for this blog, but I am almost always writing something, and in truth, as a child, I dreamed of being a great published author.  Of course, I then grew up, but as it is, I am still writing almost all the time.  Even my mom comments to me occasionally, “What are you writing?”  Usually, it’s nothing, but I am usually engaged in the act of scribbling on paper.  Now is anything I write going to be published?  Probably not.  I know the odds are against me.  On the other hand, I’ll be no worse off for the effort.  In the worst case scenario, I’ll be pretty much where I am now.  In the best case scenario, I could be a published author, and I could get some money for all of my time and effort.  So why not?  I’ve got nothing to lose.

5 Think positively, ie give up catastrophic thinking.

I engage in catastrophic thinking  a lot.  It’s part of my tendency towards depression.  This year, I am giving it up for good, or at least, making more of an effort to stop catastrophic thinking.  I’m going to stop thinking about all the things that can go wrong, and start simply assuming that things will go right.  Sometimes things do go right.  I didn’t have permanent nerve damage after my surgery, for example.

6 Take Risks

Due to my catastrophic thinking, I have a tendency to be risk averse.  I tend to think that if something bad is going to happen, why take a risk?  Instead, this year, I am going to jump over the moon.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Year’s Resolutions (some)

  1. exiledtyke says:

    It’s a good list. I really like 6 and 5. Good luck with the publishing. You seem to embody a natural eloquence in your blog which I can only imagine to be more polished in your more formal writings.

Leave a Reply

