Obligatory LeBron James Post part 2

So, as I said in my previous post, I didn’t fully discover hating LeBron until the following season, LeBron’s first in the NBA. As it became time for the finals, and Miami was approaching the final, I found myself hoping that he would lose. I didn’t want him to get a championship that first year. I was rooting against him. As I rooted against him, something strange happened. The NBA finals became, almost, slightly, fun. I won’t say fun. That would be a stretch. But still, it was far more fun to root against LeBron than it was to root for him. It was like rooting against the Yankees.

For the first time, the NBA season was not a wasteland. There was something to do. I could root against LeBron. 🙂

I would like to point out that I never went psychotic about it. I have heard people on the radio say that they hoped that LeBron would not only lose, they hoped he would break his ankle, tear his ACL and Achilles, and would never play again. I’m not that crazy. I have never wished physical injury or personal tragedy on him. I only wanted him to lose. With one notable exception: the 2012 London Olympics, because the Olympics are the Olympics and Team USA is Team USA.

Well, that’s all gone now. I can’t root against LeBron now, because that would be a tremendous socially unacceptable.

So, am I happy about LeBron coming back?

No, but I am not unhappy about it.

I plan to pay as much attention to LeBron and the Cavs that I did last time LeBron was here. The last time he was here, I never watched a single game. I plan to repeat this pattern.

I do feel a certain degree of disdain for people who rushed out to burn their LeBron jerseys last time, and are now rushing out to buy LeBron jerseys. Does this make me supercilious? Undoubtedly.

I’m not surprised though. This is nothing new.

Wherefore rejoice? What conquest brings he home?
What tributaries follow him to Rome,
To grace in captive bonds his chariot-wheels?
You blocks, you stones, you worse than senseless things!
O you hard hearts, you cruel men of Rome,
Knew you not Pompey? Many a time and oft
Have you climb’d up to walls and battlements,
To towers and windows, yea, to chimney-tops,
Your infants in your arms, and there have sat
The livelong day, with patient expectation,
To see great Pompey pass the streets of Rome:
And when you saw his chariot but appear,
Have you not made an universal shout,
That Tiber trembled underneath her banks,
To hear the replication of your sounds
Made in her concave shores?
And do you now put on your best attire?
And do you now cull out a holiday?
And do you now strew flowers in his way
That comes in triumph over Pompey’s blood? Be gone!
Run to your houses, fall upon your knees,
Pray to the gods to intermit the plague
That needs must light on this ingratitude.
Julius Caesar, Act I Scene 1

As fate would have it, a friend and I were at the Indians game on Friday. At the end of the game, people were standing on the street corner with Forgiveness shirts, proclaiming, “The kingdom has been restored!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

