Does Anyone Like Their “Cancer Doctors?”

I saw my endocrinologist for the last time on Tuesday.

I had not seen him in over a year because of unemployment/insurance reasons. I was terrified to see him; I thought he would be mad at me.

I was so nervous, my blood pressure was 140/94 when they took it. I was also worried because my blood pressure had been high, and I was terrified that it would still be high, despite the fact that I have been religiously reading labels for sodium. (They put that shit in everything!) I felt like a failure. (Of course, when my doctor took it in his office, it was 124/84, which is still a little high, but not out of control.

My pulse was high, but my doctor suspects that is a symptom of hyperthyroidism. They will likely tweak my dose and allow my TSH level to be between .4-1.0, to make sure that the high pulse is simply a symptom if hyperthyroidism.

The crazy thing is, my doctor was really nice. He’s a good doctor, and a good person. He was very concerned and not mad at me, and put me at ease, which was not easy, considering how nervous I was. (I’ve been under a lot of stress at work lately, but that’s another post for another day.)

So why didn’t I like him? I think it’s because he’s my cancer doctor, or one of them. He was the bearer of bad news. He told me that I needed to lose weight, which I do. (I’ve bought a (Fitbit to track my steps and I am going to eat more plants. I also plan to keep a food diary.) Worse than that, I associate him with cancer, with all of the fear and terrible memories of that time.

I still ended up getting a referral for doctors at another office. (It is hard for me to travel to see him given my current job. Before, I had a day off during the week, but now I have to take vacation. Plus, I have to pay for parking, which sucks completely.) I have no regrets; I have to go for convenience. Still, a part of me was sorry that I wouldn’t be seeing him. I thanked him for everything, and a part of me was sad I would not be seeing him again.

But he is still my cancer doctor, which makes it hard to like him.

But for that matter, does anyone “like” their cancer doctor?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

