New York, New York by Frank Sinatra

I heard several stories on NPR this week about Frank Sinatra, so I thought that I should write about my favorite Frank Sinatra song.

I went to New York for the first time my junior year of college.  I had struggled with depression the previous year and had not really been on vacation for years.  We were too poor.  However, my college had arranged a trip to New York for only $100, it covered the hotel, the bus, and Avenue Q, Broadway show.  We had to leave at midnight or at some ungodly hour, I can’t remember.  I walked down the street in the dark dragging a small suitcase behind me, praying that I would not be attacked or raped on my way to the student center, where we would pick up the bus.

As I did, I had this song in my head.  I may have even sang it as I walked.

The hope, excitement, and determination in this song is unmatched, and Frank lends it his own signature style.

For the record, I had an amazing time in New York.  One of the great moments of my life was walking toward Central Park and realizing that I was walking around New York.  I felt so grown up, and for the first time in a long time, I felt hopeful about my future.  After all, I made it there.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

