Small Disappointments

I took several psychology classes in college, though I never minored in it.  One of the things we learned in Psych 102 was that small stressors can be just as bad as large stressors, since they have a cumulative effect.

I was thinking about that this past week because I had several small disappointments this month.

I was hoping to get a facial and go for afternoon tea during a few days off I had, but I did not get the chance to either.

I was hoping to go to the theater, but we had to skip because of the weather.

Perhaps saddest of all, I was really hoping I could take my mom to see The Cleveland Orchestra perform Rhapsody in Blue.   She loves Rhapsody in Blue.

Oh well, I am taking her to hear Bruckner, whoever that is, so it’s not a total loss.  Plus, I realize that my disappointments are the epitome of “first world problems” so I can’t bitch too much.

At the same time, it is strange how a series of small disappointments can have a cumulative affect about how I view myself and the world.  When things go my way, I assume that they will continue to go my way.  When I am disappointed, I start to feel unlucky.  I also become less likely to take chances or to fight back when the world does not go my way.

In the meantime, here is a performance of Rhapsody in Blue, with Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic no less!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

