I Believe That We Just Won!

I remember when the women’s soccer team won the 1999 world cup. I remember the huge crowd at the stadium, Brandi Chastain dropping to her knees with triumphant joy, and how proud everyone was. Strangely enough, what sticks in my mind most of all was a political cartoon in Time Magazine later that week. The cartoon showed a large crowd at the stadium, mostly women. A group of women were holding a large banner that proudly proclaimed, “You play like a girl!” In the front row sat two men. One man turned to the other and said, “Do you remember when that used to be an insult?”

http://www.nbcnewyork.com/news/local/US-Women-Soccer-World-Cup-Ticker-Tape-Parade-New-York-Carli-Lloyd-312151441.html

7-5-15-USA-vs-JPN-Trophy-Celeb-ISI-Photos

(source: skybluefc.com )

This time around, I will remember hearing my neighbors yelling excitedly outside. I thought, “I hope they’re watching the World Cup.” They were. 🙂

BTW, Kansas City, you are officially awesome now. Congratulations. I never thought I would say that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

